And so it begins…

Yesterday I commited to Streetlight Graphics for the cover art and formatting (eBook and print) of my upcoming book Solomon’s Throne! I’m really excited, and will be starting to get them all the information they need today. It looks like, if I don’t make too many revisions and their schedule is pretty close, that the book will be available in eBook at least, and perhaps eBook and print, by mid-July. I’m even having marketing ideas, and trust me, I’m not a marketing type.

Here’s the information they need to do the cover art:
–        Title
–        Genre
–        Author Name
–        Reference Links. Three to four links to books in your genre which engender the feel you want your cover to have. These should be covers you like. This allows us to narrow down the design and capture the feel you are looking for in your cover.
–        Important themes you would like to see featured on your cover. These are elements which play a central role in the story, i.e., a particular type of house, car, character, etc.
–        Anything you do NOT want to see on the cover.
–        Synopsis of the story.

I was thinking about this last night, especially the things I don’t want on my cover. I’m not keen on people on covers, especially busty women with long flowing hair and men with their chest exposed. I didn’t really think about the fact that I don’t like people – a possible exception might be a silhouetted person running, but even still… I don’t know. I tend to like clean covers with a few (or one) significant graphic, the title and the author. This may be too bare:

Bloodline: A Sigma Force Novel

But this one is pretty good (and see the silhouetted man?):

The Devil's Gold (Short Story)

Ted Dekker books tend to be just a symbol, which can be good if it makes some sense (I have this book on my kindle but haven’t read it, so I don’t know if it makes sense or not!):

Forbidden (The Books of Mortals)

This one is kind of interesting (I gave up reading Elizabeth George when she killed off Helen…):

This Body of Death: An Inspector Lynley Novel

What do you think? What do you react to when you see a book cover? My book is an around the world treasure hunt, fast paced, exciting, solving clues and evading bad guys (but no explosions!). What kind of cover would you respond to in that genre?

Leave a comment

Filed under Publishing, Self publishing, Writing

Leave a Reply

