Oh, the joy of writing!

As many of you know, especially if we’re friends on Facebook or Twitter, I have been in an editing frenzy. What that means is that I’ve edited four full length books since early July, from first draft edit to super edit to final edit and all steps in between. And I edited my first book a second time! Let me be clear – I am not an editor…

So why the furious editing? Well, I had three books done or almost done, and really wanted to get them all published close together. There were several reasons for this. First, as a new author amongst the billions out there, having multiple books (a larger backlist) is good. If someone likes one of your books, you have somewhere else to send them, without making them wait months. Second, I’m kind of obsessive. Once I decided to go the indie route and didn’t have to wait around for queries and all that, I wanted those babies to be born! Finally, due to several calendar items, not the least of which is NaNoWriMo in November, but also holidays, a vacation and a surgery, being done by Sept 23 was kind of a big deal.

So now… I’m done! Editing, that is. For now. Editing, like teeth brushing and laundry and thank you notes, never goes away. BUT, for now, and probably (barring a first-draft edit of the Young Adult novel I’m writing) til the end of 2012, I’m done. Okay, my husband will have another book in November. But mostly, I’m done.

What that means is, I’m writing again! As you know, my August Camp NaNo was a mess. I did “win” by 37 words, barely squeaking over the finish line on the last day, because I had to take 9 days off from writing in August to edit my husband’s book. After I got the win, I took off until yesterday. And then, the magical moment came… I added 3000 words to my little stickie note “goal” list, and I wrote. 3318 words, in fact. My palms were sweating a little, and my heart was beating a little fast, and I know I had a goofy grin on my face. Because I was writing! Finally!

I am pretty new to this whole writing-books thing. I wrote my first book back in May of 2011, and it was a 50,000 word non-fiction that I still haven’t done anything with. After that, I decided I’d try NaNoWriMo in November, fully expecting to write crap, and being okay with that. But thanks in large part to the treasure hunt aspect of the story, it moved along, I didn’t get sidetracked, and I wrote over 88,000 words in November, finishing Solomon’s Throne. And most importantly, I had a blast doing it — which was even more surprising.

In February, I started the sequel to Solomon’s Throne, but didn’t get that one finished before it was time to do Script Frenzy in April. I finished in mid-April, but went to Uganda on May 3 for a few weeks, so no writing, just research. Then I did June’s Camp NaNo (Undaunted Love), finished The Hoard of the Doges in July, and did August’s Camp NaNo (Where the Ducks Went). In the midst of all that I’ve edited and gotten two books to publication.

And all that is to say… I LOVE WRITING! I may not write at this pace over the next year. It’s hard to see doing that again. But that doesn’t mean I won’t keep writing, and keep exploring other genres. I told another blogger that I’m a bit ADD, I guess – I just love changing genres, and get bored trying to think of another storyline that is in the same genre as the one I just finished. I don’t know if that’s good or bad – it might be good, if they all develop a readership; it might be bad if readers who like one genre don’t like another.  But for better or worse, it’s how my brain works…

Here’s the breakdown – I’d love to hear your thoughts on them if you get a chance:

  • SOLOMON’S THRONE – action/adventure, treasure hunt, thriller (published)
  • UNDAUNTED LOVE – Christian historical romance, Civil War (published)
  • THE HOARD OF THE DOGES – action/adventure, treasure hunt, thriller (Oct 2012)
  • WHERE THE DUCKS WENT – YA dystopian low fantary (TBA)
  • LAID WASTE – screenplay, dystopian drama

8 Comments

Filed under Writing

8 responses to “Oh, the joy of writing!

  1. That’s awesome! I wish I had gotten as much done this year as you have! As it is, I’ve been sitting on Kodiak Rising for almost a year now. It’s “done” I think. I’m waiting on a response from a new Beta Reader, but she won’t get to it until probably October. I want to get through drafting the full three part experience of Kodiak before I do anything real with part one. Congrats on all your work!

  2. Thanks! It was kind of nuts, when I look at it written out like that… I don’t know that I can do that much again, at least not in such a short time. But it really has been a blast. My plan is to finish this YA first draft by Sunday night, and then just relax, read the stack of books (figuratively speaking, since they’re on the Kindle!), and see if I can come up with something for NaNo in November. I’m looking forward to some down time! Good luck with Kodiak Rising – I admire you for doing a 3-part series!

  3. Jennings, I am amazed that you wrote in different genres! How talented you are, and I’m envious! I read a previous post where you wrote about editing, and re-editing a finished book. I almost commented then, because I self-published four books this year (fluffy, light mysteries), and after a couple of months, re-edited and republished the first three. I worked frantically to get the editing done. I’m a new writer this year, and I’m learning the hard way, but loving it. I’m definitely putting your books on my list of fellow-blogger books to read!

  4. Wow, when I grow up…I want to be just like you. I have got to get more organized. Keep churning ’em out, Jennings. I LOVE IT! Gonna grab Undaunted Love. Looking forward to your YA novel. Hope I can share my novels with you–sometime in this decade. Lol.

Leave a Reply

