Today’s the official Day 1 of my new “job”

1082958-Clipart-Worker-Punching-The-Clock-Royalty-Free-Vector-Illustration

This is it – my new job has started. My new job looks suspiciously like my old job — writing and producing books — but trust me, it’s not the same. The old job was actually a hobby of sorts. A lark. Almost an accident. I wrote, I edited, I published… And had very little idea at first what the heck I was doing! Also, like a hobby, at first the money went out, but not much came in.

So now we’re in 2013, and, like artisans have done for millenia, I have converted my casual, isn’t-this-fun hobby into a career. Like a great home baker who opens a real bakery, or an artist who opens a studio, I have now started a publishing company (no submissions, please – right now it’s just for the books my husband and I are producing!). We don’t have employees yet, except for my husband and me, but we’ve got a full production schedule posted for the world to see, and a lot of great things we want to get published in 2013.

Hence my office with the new sign. My schedule. My quarterly production chart up on the wall, and my daily/weekly/monthly checklist on the bulletin board over my desk. Hence also the panic. Well, not panic, exactly… Adrenaline. Excitement. A tad of anxiety. Purpose. Vision. Optimism. Okay, perhaps an underlying current of panic. It’s not like someone else is standing over me with a whip, or that something dire will happen if the production schedule has to get tweaked. I’m all for periodic reviews and flexibility. But I know what I see for this year, and I really, really want to get it all done.

Ironically, until 2012, I was the queen of unfinished projects. A testimony to that fact was staring at me every single day I wrote or edited in the form of a half-finished watercolor of a great blue heron. I’d started it two summers ago, when I was doing a lot of painting. It’s a good start, too — my daughter had already put dibs on it. But that November I did NaNo, I had some health issues, and then I got to writing more and more, and I never got the paints back out. This has happened a lot over the years with other creative things: beading, drawing, crochet, knitting… I have so many half-finished projects in my office closet it’s ridiculous

Having passion that is accompanied by drive and vision… That’s the difference. No one has had to push me to get my three books published. No one has had to push me to get five books and a screenplay written, or the editing done. No one has had to push me to market and promote my work. I now have the drive not only to do the fun creating part, but to go all the way with it. That’s new territory!

So today the job starts. Day 1 with Ross James Publishing. I’m headed to the gym in a few minutes, and then I’ll “clock in” and get going. Editing all morning, writing all afternoon. That’s what I call a good day!

How about you? How is 2013 changing things around in your life?

Titlecard-Employee_of_the_Month

11 Comments

Filed under Self publishing, Writing

11 responses to “Today’s the official Day 1 of my new “job”

  1. Wow, that is AWESOME! best of luck, Jennings! 🙂

  2. I’m also re-starting my job, lol. I was working *extremely* part time as a technical writer for an eLearning company (as in, 10 hours a week), but I recently got a raise on the condition that I put in at least 30 hours a week … so kind of like you, I’m turning a part-time thing into a full-time gig. I’m excited for the money, although not so excited for the work that’s going to be involved (lol!) Congrats on your publishing business!!!

  3. I’ve been following your blog on and off – more off – but I liked this one. Maybe there’s a kindred spirit. I made the plunge into full-time (?) writing in 2012 and learned there’s a lot more to writing than writing. Which really depressed me for a long time. On the other hand, after a LONG time trying to make this work professionally – NEVER SELL EARLY because it will haunt you for the rest of your life – I’ve basically turned it into a labor of love. I think I’ve learned some things and for the first time in two years I’m fired up and writing hard again. Actually I’ve made three decisions separate and apart from the actual writing and I think based on what I’ve read and know about myself, 2013 should be different. But in any case, I wanted you to know that your light has lit up a little corner of my world. Thanx
    dqs

  4. Absolutely! That’s great. I hope it goes well and you settle into your new routine quickly.

  5. jjtoner

    Wow! Way to go Jennings. I wish I had your energy and drive. Sounds like you’ve already got a viable business going. I’m sure it’ll be a great success. (off to check out your books).

  6. jjtoner

    PS The link to your publishing web site doesn’t work.

Leave a Reply

