ReadersAfterDark

Please welcome Jennings Wright author of Soloman’s Throne.

Guest Post

My very first “real” job (meaning not in my dad’s office, not an internship with my uncle’s business, and not waiting tables) was as the assistant to the president of a company in Irvine, California. I was Mr. Hewitt’s secretary, fancy title notwithstanding, and while he was a good boss, that kind of job didn’t really suit me. But as a first job, it wasn’t bad, and the owner was very wise and business savvy, which has helped me tremendously during the twenty-plus years I’ve been a business owner myself.

The one thing that has always stuck with me was what he said when we were interviewing applicant after applicant for a job. I was young, just out of college, and most of them seemed pretty good to me. I couldn’t quite figure out what he was looking for, so…

View original post 874 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

