Guest post by H. Mattern – I’m a writer!

Today we welcome debut novelist H. Mattern, whose first novel, Saving Katie Baker, will be released next month! She’s also my friend and a fellow adventurer.

Heather pic

Until I started calling myself a writer, I was just a dreamer.

I don’t know why it was so difficult for me.  It was easy to call myself a Mother when my first child was born.  It was easy to call myself a Wife.  It was even easy to embrace the title Teacher when we started homeschooling.  Nobody questioned those hats that I juggled but when it came to this title, I was hesitant.

I often found myself trying on these instead:

Wannabe writer.

Rambler.

Dreamer.

Journaler.

Until I decided to be brave and throw caution to the wind, until I found the words on my lips and declared them to the world, I was just a dreamer.

I remember the first time I said, “I’m a writer” to someone who posed that question I used to dread, “What do you do?”

We were selling a camper.  AKA: My Gypsy Wagon.  I used this cute little RV as my office when we weren’t off traveling in it on some grand adventure.  The day came when it was time to say goodbye to her.  It was a sweet older couple that had come to take a peek inside.

he wife and I stood outside and exchanged rambles while the men talked details.  It was her that posed the question.  I’m sure my hesitation confused her as I debated what words I would offer in response.  My heart beat, like a hammer in my chest once the words were out. “I’m a writer”.

It felt good to confess.  Like a pair of jeans that fit perfectly, the title felt great against my skin.

We went on to chat about our favorite authors and books we recommend to one another.  I remember thinking, that wasn’t so hard, what was I so afraid of?  That was the moment when everything changed for me.  My dreams were no longer dreams but reality.  I became a writer that day instead of a woman who dreamt of being one.

I began to write.

I’m not saying I didn’t write before then.  I did, but I didn’t take it seriously.  I’d dabble here and there with short stories but most of them were left unfinished.  Once I actually embraced the title- I began to live up to it.

I made goals.  And deadlines.  I contacted an editor.  Chatted with Indie Publishing Companies.  I leapt fearlessly.

Am I saying that my debut novel, Saving Katie Baker, wouldn’t be blooming next month if I hadn’t voiced this dream?  Who knows?  All I can say is something changed inside me.

If you are hesitant to call yourself writer, try it on, see what happens!

You can find more great stuff from Heather here:

Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interviews, Self publishing, Writing

Leave a Reply

