Interview with Author Scott Roche

Today we have Scott Roche with us for our Saturday Coffee with Authors interview. Scott is a man of many talents, especially with words. His latest novelette is Two Steps from Hell. Thanks for joining us, Scott!

twostepshell

Tell us about yourself.

I’m a husband and father of three. I’m a home brewer and a thinker of thoughts. I’m been a blogger, a podcaster, and a writer of many words. I’ve sold books, worked at a bowling alley, did a stint at a convenience store, and now I’m a computer support technician. Amongst all of those things I am a writer of fiction.

When did you start writing and what made you start?

I’ve been a story teller since the tender age of seven. Life was boring as an only child with parents who worked far too much, so I started creating these universes. Later in my childhood I started playing role playing games. That gave me a more structured venue to tell my tales. It wasn’t until high school that I really started writing stories in the more traditional sense. Even then it was sporadic.

Time passed and when my first child came I felt the pangs of mortality. I didn’t have any creative outlets. I was in a new city with few friends and time on my hands. It was then that I started really writing with an effort towards figuring out the craft. The last few years have been spent building some semblance of an audience and with the advent of easy self-publishing tools, I began to make my work available to the public.

Tell us a little bit about your latest books.

My most recent work is Two Steps From Hell. It’s a novelette and it’s my take on Urban Fantasy. It’s about a Fae that’s been summoned from Hell, a place he didn’t think Faeries went, to modern day New Orleans. He’s got twenty four hours to figure out why his now deceased summoner brought him here, in order to avoid returning to his fate.

Where did you come up with this idea?

I was challenged to create a character that was unlikable, and yet one that the reader could identify with and care about. I’ve long been a fan of faeries, and wanted to write something using that and that took place in a modern urban setting. On my longer works I’m typically an outliner, but for this story I wrote by the seat of my pants. In the end it wound up being very action packed and a lot of fun.

Who did the cover art for your book?

Scott E. Pond designed the cover for me. He’s done a couple of covers for me. He’s got a great visual style and is very easy to work with. I told him what I wanted and he ran with it.

Who do find to be a huge inspiration for your writing? And why is that?

My biggest inspiration is Stephen King. For me, good writing starts with good characters. His are always accessible and, from the sweetest to the most diabolical, I always end up caring for them in some fashion. I also love the pictures he paints and the fact that he’s okay with not being thought of as a “literary genius”. His books are the equivalent of fast food, meant to entertain, and that’s what I strive for.

Which one of your characters would be the best to meet in real life?

Father Ian. He’s an Irish priest in a series of short stories I’ve written. He and I share similar faith struggles and he’s a kind, smart, and sensitive soul. I feel like I could learn a few things from him.

What are you reading right now?

A number of things. That’s usually the case for me. I’m a geek, so I’m reading Stealing the Network: How to Own a Shadow which is hacker fiction. I’m also reading the second book in Gary Nix’s Abhorsen trilogy. Finally, I’m reading Exorcising Aaron Nguyen by Lauren Harris. That one’s for a book review on my blog.

What is the one thing that seems to always get in the way of writing time?

Television/reading/the internets. I’m a horrible procrastinator when it comes to my creative pursuits. There are so many potential distractions out there and I love them all. The most important thing you can do as a writer is write. Thankfully I have a spouse that encourages me to get off my backside and do it.

Are there any more projects you are currently working on? Do you know when we might get to see those?

I’ve always got irons in the fire. Currently I’m writing the sequel to my YA science fiction novel Ginnie Dare: Crimson Sands. Ginnie is a smart teen who is the communications officer on her family’s space freighter. The first book has been a big hit with its readers. I hope Ginnie Dare: Blockade Runner will be too. I plan to have it out the first of next year.

You’re throwing a fiction character party.  What fictional characters would you like to invite (name and where they are from (book/TV/Movie/etc.) and why?

While I don’t consider myself a Browncoat I love the crew that Joss Whedon created for his Firefly series. Sitting down with that misfit crew would be awesome. Like King, Joss does a fantastic job of creating characters that I care about. I love Shepherd Book most of all, for many of the same reasons I like Father Ian.

Now for some “this or that:”

Coke/Pepsi – Dr. Pepper

Cat/Dog – Rats

Vampires/Zombies – Werewolves

Marvel/DC – Dark Horse

Thor/Loki – Dream

Hero/Villain – Anti-Hero

Car/Plane – Bus

London/Paris – Innisfree 

Ice cream/Chips – Yes

I know you want to find more of Scott’s work and ideas, so here’s where you can find him:

Blog
Twitter
Facebook
Author of the podcast novel Archangel
Co-producer of Making the Cut and Murder at Avedon Hill
Contributing Editor of the Flagship E-zine

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews, Writing

One response to “Interview with Author Scott Roche

  1. I am a huge procrastinator too…

Leave a Reply

