Author interview with Erin Albert

I’m so happy to welcome author Erin Albert to Saturday Coffee with Authors. Her debut novel comes out later this fall and it sounds really interesting. Plus, we both love Percy Jackson, so… there ya go!

Tell us about yourself.

I’m a bona fide dreamer at the core.  For my “job,” I am a fitness trainer for runners.  Before doing that, I worked as a recruiter in a staffing agency and as an eye doctor’s assistant.  I think I would have gotten a degree in nursing if I had my schooling to do over again.  My passion lies with running, acting, reading, and writing. 

When did you start writing and what made you start?

I wrote my first poem at the age of four. When my family freaked out over it, I realized the power of the written word.  I’ve been writing since then.  😉

Tell us a little bit about your latest books.

My debut novel, The Prophecy, comes out in November 2013.  It’s the story of a girl who is kidnapped by religious fanatics and proclaimed the fulfillment of an ancient peace prophecy.  You can get a sneak peek of the characters and the world here.

Where did you come up with this idea?

I was literally watching a movie and the idea hit me out of nowhere.  I jotted down some notes, contacted my friends to see if the story sounded interesting, and started writing. 

Who did the cover art for your book?

No cover yet.  Eep!!

Who do find to be a huge inspiration for your writing? And why is that?

I am in awe of Rick Riordan, Richelle Mead, George R. R. Martin, and Cassandra Clare.  They build such vivid worlds and complex characters.  I’d consider myself a success if I turn out to be half that awesome.  😉

Which one of your characters would be the best to meet in real life?

I can’t tell you yet… LOL! 

What are you reading right now?

I am currently reading an ARC of Charmed Memories by Mary Waibel.

What is the one thing that seems to always get in the way of writing time?

Life!  LOL!  If I could just hole up in a cave, daydreaming and writing, that would be ideal.  But other responsibilities encroach…

Are there any more projects you are currently working on? Do you know when we might get to see those?

Oh yes, I am always working on something.  Right now, I am revising the sequel to The Prophecy (working title–The Outlanders).  I wrote the whole trilogy at once, but I made some changes to The Prophecy that now must be filtered down to the other two.  I’m also putting the finishing touches on a speculative fiction short story to enter into a contest.  And finally, I’m in the process of revising a futuristic thriller tentatively called Number 25598.  Like The Prophecy’s sequel, it’s already written, but I’m doing some major rewrites. 

You’re throwing a fiction character party.  What fictional characters would you like to invite (name and where they are from (book/TV/Movie/etc.) and why?

1) Percy Jackson from the Percy Jackson and The Olympians and the Heroes of Olympus series.  He is HYSTERICAL.  He would bring life to the party. 

2) Adrian Ivashkov from the Vampires Academy series and Bloodlines series.  I adore him and would fangirl so hard over the opportunity to meet him.

3) Jem Carstairs and Will Herondale from the Infernal Devices series.  These boys live in the hearts of all my friends, so they would be a BIG hit at the party. 

4) Alcide from True Blood.  He’d be my own personal eye candy.  Seriously, he’s gorgeous.

5) I guess I should invite a girl, huh?  LOL!  No, I’d invite all my friends and fangirls, so there would be plenty of girls.  😉

Feel free to add any of these this/that questions to the end of the interview:

Coke/Pepsi – Coke for regular, Diet Pepsi for diet

Cat/Dog – Cat

Vampires/Zombies – Vampires

Marvel/DC – Marvel

Thor/Loki – Thor, the Chris Hemsworth variety, please

Hero/Villain – Either, depending on the character

Car/Plane – Car

London/Paris – Either!  Gosh, I’d happily go to either.  😉

Ice cream/Chips – Chips, specifically Doritos

TheProphecy_ErinAlbert_AuthorPhoto_Smaller

Erin Albert is an author and fitness trainer.  Since she picked up Morris the Moose Goes to School at age four, she has been infatuated with the written word.  She went on to work as a grammar and writing tutor in college and is still teased by her family and friends for being a member of the “Grammar Police.”  In her free time, Erin enjoys acting, running, kickboxing, and, of course, reading and writing. 

Links

Twitter 

 

Facebook

 

Website

 

Goodreads

1 Comment

Filed under Author Interviews, Publishing, Self publishing, Writing

One response to “Author interview with Erin Albert

  1. Fun interview! I love the fiction character party idea. I may have to “borrow” that some time!

Leave a Reply

