Greetings from Texas!

Hello all – and a particular hello to those of you who have plunged themselves in the crazy, wonderful world of NaNoWriMo. Can you believe it’s NOVEMBER already?? Cra…zy…

I am in Houston to speak at a fundraiser tonight. It’s not writing related – it’s about hospice in Uganda, which is, really, my real job. I’m in Houston, right across the interstate from the Galleria, but it’s kind of like Idaho – you can’t get there from here! So my excitement for the morning was to walk next door to the Shipley Do-Nut place. Now, I was told that this was Houston’s answer to Krispy Kreme. I’m pretty partial to Krisy Kreme – we have the 2nd ever store about two miles from my house, and the original store is wehre I went to school. So I was skeptical. My verdict? It’s not Krispy Kreme (how can you compete with a hot glazed??), but it was pretty good. And I got two donuts for $1.35… which beats the $15 + tax for the breakfast in the hotel restaurant.

shipley donut

Since the only way to come to Houston today would have been to take a 5:30am flight (okay, not totally true, but the flight I came in on yesterday would have really pushed up against the fundraiser, and I would have been late if the flight was delayed), I came yesterday. I’m really not doing anything except speaking, so that means I’m hanging out in the hotel. Right now, Argo is on – what a great movie! This afternoon I’m hoping to get at least 4,000 words written, practice my speech, and then go have fun with 175 people who are interested in Uganda. So that’s a prety good day!

For those of you waiting for the final book of the IXEOS Trilogy, I’m almost done! It should be released around Thanksgiving. October was a big black hole for me, between surgery and then an illness. Plus there was the problem of how to resolve a global war. It seemed like a great idea at the time, but boy, is it hard to come up with a way to end it, especially when the world’s population is so decimated that there is ample empty space. But I finally had a middle-of-the-night revelation, and now it’s flowing easily. I’ve been doing some editing all along (yes, contrary to my regular method, but editing while on pain killers is a lot easier than writing on them – which is the opposite of Hemingway’s advice:

write-drunk-edit-sober

but I’m never going to be Hemingway, so I went for it!)

The cover is already done:

Ixeos3-3

So I’m really excited! I’m taking a break after Darian’s War is done to work on fundraising for my own nonprofit and to get ready to move to another town in January. I’ll keep up with the blog, and will start work on a sequel to Undaunted Love in the spring, once things have calmed down a bit. I may even do an online auction, and I’d love for you to “attend” to help us help the people of Uganda and Andros, Bahamas, so stay tuned. (And if you’d like to donate anything to that cause, let me know!)

Thanks for reading and being patient with my scanty offerings in October. I’m hoping to be more on the ball this month!

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Writing

Leave a Reply

